The decision to become a nurse.

 

Ain't that the truth!

Ain’t that the truth!

The decision to study nursing has been a long time coming for myself  and after a bit of stumbling and floating I’ve made it.

After leaving high school in year 10 to pursue a trade I always had a desire to work in health sciences but was adamant that I would NEVER go back to school! Now here I am!

When I received my papers qualifying me as a chef, I promptly left the industry only to defer university and end up two steps behind- in hospitality and full of self doubt. It took a year of this to realise that now was the time to follow my dreams.

Only it wasn’t nursing that I studied. I moved 300km from home to pursue a paramedic science degree. One semester in and I loathed it. The students were too ahead of themselves and the content was dry. So it was after a year that I made the tough decision to head home and move to a much smaller campus to start a bachelor of nursing.

I have six weeks until I start my new course and I am undoubtedly becoming more and more excited as time goes on and I research more and more about the profession.

My main reason for pursuing a career in nursing is that I think it is an absolutely amazing and beautiful thing to be allowed into a persons life and the lives of their families in their greatest time of need and vulnerability.

Readers (if I get any haha), why did/ do you want to become a nurse?

One thought on “The decision to become a nurse.”

  1. You have at least one reader 🙂
    I decided to pursue nursing after being offered an early entry when I applied to go back to uni, and this offer included the opportunity to be accepted into almost any of the courses the uni offered. So I sat down and went through the available courses, crossing certain ones off the list and putting others into the ‘maybe’ pile. I ended up with nursing and primary teaching as my final two options. My fiance is a primary school teacher, and although I had initially applied to return to uni to complete a bachelor of arts and then head into primary teaching, I felt doubtful that being a primary teacher would be something I would really love and want to do for the rest of my working life. So after some research and discussion I decided to select nursing…and I’m so glad I did, because I LOVE it!
    It is so great when you begin to take the right career path and you get that feeling of just knowing it is right for you….finally! So after 10 years out of high school I am on track to being part of something I love, caring for people and being able to help people when they are vulnerable and in need.
    Looking forward to reading about your journey as a student nurse!
    Lisa 🙂
    http://www.studentnurselisa.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

